With such a small book of the Bible, God tells a grand story of His love and pursuit of His people. 

The Bible is the most epic love story ever written.

I am falling in love with Jesus in a fresh way as I see His heart afresh throughout scripture. He so loves me.

Sunday, Pastor spoke on the minor prophet of Hosea. He showed a brief video that just summed up the book in 7 quick minutes but it had a profound impact on my heart.

The Israelites repeatedly disobeyed and “cheated” so to speak on God. They turned to Baal after all His love and blessing in the promised land. God was faithful to His people and led them out of captivity in Egypt, where He literally parted the Sea so they could walk across and escape those prusuing them, provided mana from the sky to feed them in the desert and water from a rock, and brought them into an abundant land the “land flowing with milk and honey”. He was so good to them and so faithful, yet they took all of His blessings and ran with them. They turned to other gods and got caught up in the pleasures of life without gratitude towards the giver of life and all these blessings.

In my justice heart I read this and wanted them to pay for their disgusting behavior. I wanted them to get what they deserved and be shunned from the glory of God because He deserved better after all He’d done for them!

Oh, but thats not how the story goes. He pursues them even more! He uses their sin to show even more of His mercy and love, His Father heart towards them. He comes to them with a servants heart, He bows low and brings them up. He calls them higher, but through example and relationship.

He uses Hosea as a prophetic symbol through his love for Gomer after she has “cheated” on him to portray His love for His people as their “Husband” faithful, so faithful.

Hosea 2:16-23,

“And in that day, declares the Lord, you will call me ‘My Husband’ and no longer will you call me ‘My Baal’. For I will remove the names of the Baals from her mouth, and they shall be remembered by name no more. And I will make for them a covenant on that day with the beasts of the field, the birds of the heavens, and the creeping things on the ground. And I will abolish the bow, the sword, and war from the land, and I will make you lie down in safety. And I will betroth you to me forever. I will betroth you to me in righteousness and in justice, in steadfast love and in mercy. I will betroth you to me in faithfulness. And you shall know the Lord. And in that day I will answer, declares the Lord, I will answer the heavens, and they shall answer the earth, and the earth shall answer the grain, the wine, and the oil, and they shall answer Jezreel, and I will sow her for myself in the land. And I will have mercy on No Mercy, and I will say to Not My People, You are my people, and he shall say, You are my God.”

I honestly read this and felt so convicted. All the love and faithfulness and blessings God has shown me throughout my life, I too often act as the Israelites and get consumed in the blessings and not Him who blesses me yet He continuously pursues me. He has never turned His back. Oh, that I would remember this and look to Him.

What incredible love He’s had that, “while we were still sinners Christ died for us” Romans 5:8

 

Leave a Reply

