Discipline

Learning to welcome the Lords discipline. In the last few months as Ive started down the road to a healthier life and seen the results of discipline and hard work and felt the joy of small results as a reward Ive noticed how I want this valuable lesson of discipline to be welcomed in my Spiritual life as well. Scripture says in Hebrews 12:6 that “For the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives.” and in Hebrews 12:11-13 that ” For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it”. In the age of social media and selifies we love to share the visible results of our disciplined endevours of working out and acheiving that body weve always wanted. Healthy, disciplined living has become a trend and weve all jumped on the train at one point or another. What I have been convicted of though is the discipline that isnt exactly showy. The discipline that is the integrity I have between Jesus and my relationship with Him. The discipline to say no when His Spirit of truth convicts me. The discipline to live in His definition of purity and not the worlds. The discipline to meditate on His Word daily and “be transformed by the renewing of my mind”. The discipline to endure persecution for speaking truth and living it when it isnt popular even within so called “Christian” circles anymore. The truth is Jesus saved me from a life of self gratification to live a life of discipline unto His righteousness because He knows that that is the only place that true joy, security, and protection comes from and as a loving Father He wants nothing less for me. My hearts cry perfectly expressed through the old hymn Potters hand, “Take me, mold me, use me, fill me, I give my life to the Potter’s hand”.

Leave a Reply

