“I AM”…The Life

John 3

“Jesus answered and said to him, ‘truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God” (v.3). This really caught my attention, “unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God”. This lead me to self evaluate a bit. I started to think about how a child develops from the womb and how I became who I am today based off the way I was brought up as a child. In this I started to wonder if I have truly been born again. Have I truly given God my old ways of living in order to come into His Kingdom and learn from Him as I am now a child of His. I know I prayed that prayer, multiple times to be honest, stating that I believe in His death on the cross for my salvation, but have I made Him Lord of my life? Have I laid down my rights and given Him control? To be honest, I haven’t. Although I believe in my heart and have confessed with my mouth that He is Lord I haven’t let this lead me into a surrender of Him being Lord of my life. I have basically taken the gift of salvation from Him and implemented it into my way of living. But this isn’t what He asked of me. He said, “He who believes in the Son has eternal life; but he who does not obey the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God abides on Him” (v.36). Believe and obey are used interchangeably here. Here, John is saying obedience follows belief. My dad used to explain this concept to me with an example of a boy in a tree. He would say, if a boy is stuck up in a tree and his father is on the ground and calls out to the son and says, “son jump down and I’ll catch you” if the son says, “ok dad I believe you” but doesn’t jump down he really doesn’t fully believe or have faith his dad is going to catch him. This is the test of true belief and faith, trust. God has been consistently bringing this to the forefront of my life lately asking me in a whisper, “you believe in me, but do you trust me?” I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that I don’t always trust Him. Trust has been a very tough concept for me to grasp throughout my life. Repeated situations and relationships have taught me that I can’t trust and that there is fear in trust. The Bible says, “Perfect love casts out all fear” but my question has always been how? Because I have not experienced a situation where trust hasn’t been broken in some way and in this, any situation that I am expected to trust in causes fear.  So where do I go from here? How do I learn to trust what I can’t see when I can’t even trust what I do see. Well interestingly enough this is what Jesus is bringing to the attention of the Pharisee here in chapter three. The Pharisee comes to Jesus stating that He knows Jesus has come from God because of His miraculous signs, and in greeting Jesus as a teacher the Pharisee infers that He is asking of Jesus to make known to him His ways. Jesus responds to the Pharisee by explaining that no one can truly understand the things of God unless He is born of God, which actually is what Jesus is here on earth to make available. Jesus goes on to confront Nicodemus, the Pharisee, by stating that if he is the teacher of Israel and cannot understand these things which are earthly things than how can he understand that which is of the Kingdom. Jesus cuts to the heart here because He knows man’s heart. He knows that if man cannot trust that which is in front of Him, man will not trust that which is unseen in heaven or which is of the Kingdom of God. The good news is….Jesus is trustworthy. His promises since the beginning of time have always come to fulfillment. The Old Testament is full of prophecy and fulfillment, God giving a promise and months, years, decades, even thousands of years later, them being fulfilled. The ultimate and most well known example of this is Jesus coming for our redemption. Throughout the Old Testament there is prophecy of a Savior and King coming to save His people. Isaiah 53:5, “But he was wounded for our transgressions; he was crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with his stripes we are healed.” Isaiah wrote this prophecy thousands of years before Jesus came to earth, and as we know Jesus did come and fulfill this prophecy and in it gave us the right to become sons and daughters of God with an eternal home. This is where I find peace. God not only was true in many, many prophecies coming to fulfillment throughout scripture but He came through for me, He paid the price I owed to give me the life I don’t deserve and in this I can trust Him, in this I can believe Him, in this I will obey Him because before I was even conceived in the womb, He made a way for me.

Leave a Reply

