“I AM”…The Word

Through this first chapter of John, God revealed to me His true character as “The Word”. The beginning of this chapter starts in the beginning… “In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God” (John 1:1). The term Word is used in reference to Jesus. It was known to the Jews of that time as a way to refer to the governing authority of life. The Word became flesh, therefore is stating that the literal word they believed in, that God had spoken to them through the prophets was coming to them in human form. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through him and without him was not anything made that was made. In him was life, and the life was the light of men” (John 1:2-3). This here is what radically changed the way I was living. Jesus is truth. He is the light that leads us to life. In Him IS life. Since I can remember I have been a truth finder. I’m the type of person that loves to ask “why” and not take the first answer that comes to me. I search out truth in a way that can be exhausting. Coming from a home where Jesus was taught, but later on denied in actions, it really set me on a journey to find the true Jesus for myself. Although I wouldn’t say it was conscious, in my young adult years I have had a very hard time trusting people enough to believe them.  “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth” (John 1:14). I felt like this verse was a breath of fresh air. They saw His character, that full of grace and truth. All the lies that had been passed down from the sin that corrupted mankind were vanishing in the presence of the Son of God as they stood with Him and witnessed the glory of the Father. The Bible is a book of eyewitness reports and personal testimonies witnessing the truth of the Son of God. “For from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace…”(John 1:16).  Here as the disciples stood in His presence it was so clear that He was their life. As I read this I just put myself in this place where Jesus would be standing with physical and spiritual traits manifesting the glory of God. As I read this truth, that through his fullness I have received grace upon grace, I couldn’t help but thank Him. No one has ever seen God; the only God, who is at the Father’s side, he has made him known”(John 1:18).  Jesus, standing in the presence of mankind was tangibly making God known. Wow. As he became part of the life of those living in Israel at this time He used every chance to show what He came for. “He said, I am the voice of one crying out in the wilderness, Make straight the way of the Lord, as the prophets Isaiah said.” This was a reference to Isaiah chapter 40….”Comfort, comfort my people, says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem and cry to her that her warfare is ended, that her iniquity is pardoned, that she has received from the Lord’s hand double for all her sins” (Isaiah 40:1-2). Then Isaiah goes on to prophecy what John referenced. As I took time to read through this chapter of Isaiah I saw more of the true character of God and felt comforted in the protection and provision of my father and creator. It also brought more clarity to the person of Jesus Christ and the witness of Him referenced in this first chapter of John.“He will tend his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom, and gently lead those that are with young” (Isaiah 40:11). You can’t read this without seeing a Father’s love and care for His children. He is our provider and the one who carries us when we have failed on our own. God speaks through Isaiah throughout this chapter establishing who He is in relation to who the people of Israel had mistaken Him to be. “Why do you say, O Jacob, and speak, O Israel, My way is hidden from the Lord, and my right is disregarded by my God? Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength” (Isaiah 40:27-29).  As Isaiah 40 reads of God speaking through Isaiah prophesying who He is and what He is going to do, John is witnessing this come to bare on the people of Israel and for us all who are grafted in. In reading the prophecy of Isaiah 40, referenced here in John, it brings light to what Jesus’ purpose was here on earth. Jesus is re-establishing His character in defense of the lies that Satan has put in the minds of God’s people for thousands of years. As John states in the beginning of this chapter, he witnesses and reveals throughout the chapter, “The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it”(John 1:5). The power of Jesus ultimately overcomes the lies of Satan because Jesus is the pure and unblemished Lamb of God and His glory is revealed through His character here in the first chapter of John as Jesus establishes who He is, The Word in flesh.

Leave a Reply

