Jeremiah 2:13

“My people have committed two sins: They have forsaken me, the spring of living water, and have dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water”(Jer 2:13, NIV)

Cistern- “a waterproof receptacle for holding liquids, usually water” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cistern)

The power in this word that God gave to Jeremiah concerning Israel(His people) is so powerful! This is the same issue that we struggle with as Christians now days. Cisterns as explained in the encyclopedia, are meant for holding water. What God is saying here is that His people have turned to earthly means to sustain themselves and He is the true sustainer, the “spring of living water”. He goes even further to say that we(His people) are using “broken cisterns that cannot hold water”. I just feel convicted from this truth because I know how much I have tried to do this in my life by latching on to things and people that I think will “keep me safe” or sustain me and and I always have this deep sense that nothing can or will completely fill me and sustain me except Him who is  the “spring of living water”. He is so good and so real when I come to Him, humbled by this revelation that He is all I have and will ever need forever! “Praise Him from whom ALL blessings flow” !

Leave a Reply

